Sexual harassment in the workplace is illegal and unacceptable. It is a form of “sex discrimination” under Massachusetts anti-discrimination laws. It is also prohibited in places of public accommodation, educational facilities, and housing.
As with other forms of discrimination, a complaint for sexual harassment must be filed with the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination (“MCAD”) within 300 days of the last discriminatory act. A complainant may have the case removed to court as long the case has been with the MCAD for at least 90 days. If the MCAD case reaches the hearing phase, and the administrative judge finds in the claimant’s favor, the claimant may decide to accept the MCAD’s findings and not file suit in court.
Contact experienced employment counsel for sexual harassment claim
Let us know the facts and circumstances of your situation. We will evaluate the viability of your claim and let you know your options. If we believe your case is meritorious, we will help you through the MCAD process and, if necessary, litigation. Either way, we will fight to win your case and maximize any recoverable damages.
If you have suffered sexual harassment at work, call us today at 617-544-0987 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.